DARIUS JAMES

NEGROPHOBIA

NYRB Classics

  • Sale
  • Regular price $14.95
  • 2 available
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Darius James’s scabrous, unapologetically raunchy, and truly hilarious and scary Negrophobia collides head on with the hydra-headed phenomenon of American racism. A screenplay for the mind, a performance on the page, a work of poetry, a mad mix of genres and styles, a novel in the tradition of William S. Burroughs and Ishmael Reed that is like no other novel, Negrophobia begins with the blonde bombshell Bubbles Brazil succumbing to a voodoo spell and entering the inner darkness of her own shiny being. Here crackheads parade in the guise of Muppets, Muslims beat conga drums, Negroes have numbers for names, and H Rap Remus demands the total and instantaneous extermination of the white race through spontaneous combustion. By the end of it all, after going on a weird trip for the ages, Bubbles herself is strangely transformed.